I’ve gone no carb

I mean, as no-carb as possible. That means no bread, pasta, rice potatoes etc. However, there is food on my menu that contains carbs such as beans, butternut and bananas.

I made this decision on Saturday…5 days go. And It has been surprisingly easy in terms of being able to resist temptations.

I’ve not craved carbs, though I’ve generally been feeling a bit eefy…light-headed and very irritable.

However, I will confess to having popcorn on Monday (day 3 of my new lifestyle) purely because it was in the house, and i felt compelled to eat it.

And I had 2 small slices of brown homemade bread yesterday because I had to go and review a new restaurant for work.

Those are the only basic carbs I’ve had in 5 days….

This is an INCREDIBLE ACHIEVEMENT for me. I have never stuck to any sort of diet for longer than a few hours. The fact that I have been focused for almost a week is incredible and unbelievable for me.

Even with my slip-ups, I could easily have gone back to my old ways. But I have stuck to having a high veggie and high protein eating plan. That means eggs and veg for breakfast, chicken/minced meat with veg for lunch and dinner, and small fruit and yogurt as snacks between meals. I will admit that it has been hard achieving my calorie intake goal of 1200 per day.

The scale has not budged at ALL… I was hoping to start seeing results almost immediately. by dropping a kilo or two in the first couple of days… but my weight has remained stagnant. I’m not sure why. But I have lost almost an inch around my waist already.

I shall be sticking to this and I believe I will get results eventually.

It won’t be easy with social gatherings… but I will bring my own no-carb food, so that I don’t inconvenience my hosts.

2 thoughts on “I’ve gone no carb

  1. Ever heard of the whoosh? I just had one. Your weight will stay stagnant for 4-5 days, then you’ll wake up and you’ll look at that scale like “huh?” because 2+ kilos have disappeared. Be patient!

Leave a Reply

